A guide to the Tour de France

Tour de France knitted mini-jerseys

Tour de France 2016 wildcards

3rd March 2016

Argon Bora rider at the Tour de France 2015

Bora-Argon rider at the Tour de France 2015 in Utrecht

The Tour de France organisers have announced the non-World Tour teams given wildcard invites to the 2016 race. The four teams are Cofidis, Direct Energie, Fortuneo-Vital Concept (all French), and Bora Argon 18 (German). They join the 18 World Tour teams automatically entitled to participate.

Dutch news organisation NOS.nl points out that all four wildcard teams also received a wildcard in 2015. The teams include some well-known French riders - for example, Nacer Bouhanni is a member of Team Cofidis, and Direct Energie employs Thomas Voeckler and Sylvain Chavanel.

Tour de France 2016: participating teams

The full list of teams taking part in the 2016 Tour de France is:

AG2R La Mondiale (France)

Astana (Kazhakstan)

BMC Racing (USA)

Cannondale Pro Cycling (USA)

Dimension Data (South Africa)

Etixx Quick Step (Belgium)

Francaise des Jeux (France)

IAM Cycling (Switzerland)

Lampre-Merida (Italy)

Lotto Soudal (Belgium)

Movistar (Spain)

Orica Greenedge (Australia)

Giant Alpecin (Germany)

Katusha (Russia)

Lotto Jumbo (Netherlands)

Team Sky (Great Britain)

Tinkoff (Russia)

Trek-Segafredo (USA)

Bora-Argon 18 (Germany)

Cofidis (France)

Direct Energie (France)

Fortunéo-Vital Concept (France)

Grand Départ 2016

The 2016 Tour de France begins at Mont St Michel, in the Manche département of France. 

Tour de France 2016 route announcement

Rohan Dennis in yellow, TDF 2015

The Tour de France 2016 route was announced. It tackles the Pyrenees before the Alps, which could help Chris Froome. There are 9 flat stages, 1 hilly stage, 9 mountain stages, and 2 individual time trials. Read more about the Tour de France 2016 route anouncement.

Peloton on Cote de Blubberhouses, 2014 Tour de FranceCannondale rider, 2015 Tour de France, stage 1, UtrechtSpectator, Utrecht, 2015 Tour de France

© 2016 SpeedyHedgehog
Template design by Andreas Viklund